Accredited at “A++” grade (highest level as per modified criteria notified on 27.07.2017) by NAAC and Conferred “University with Potential for Excellence” status by UGC

Department :  Food Science & Technology

Click here to view list of Department(s)

Name:Dr. Narpinder Singh
Areas of Interest / SpecializationStarch and protein chemistry, extruded products, modified starches, baked products, Cereal & legumes quality, milling, product development, selection of raw material etc.
Best Ten Publications:1. Khetan Shevkani, Narpinder Singh, Amritpal Kaur and Jai Chand Rana. Structural and functional characterization of kidney bean and field pea protein isolates: A comparative study. Food Hydrocolloids, 2015 (In Press). 2. Shagun Sharma, Narpinder Singh*, Amardeep Singh Virdi, Jai Chand Rana. Quality traits analysis and protein profiling of field 1 pea (Pisum sativum) germplasm from Himalayan region. Food Chemistry, 2015, 172, 528-536. 3. Naincy Parmar, Amardeep Singh Virdi, Narpinder Singh, Amritpal Kaur , Ritika Bajaj, Jai Chand Rana, Lalit Agrawal, Chandra Shekhar Nautiyal. Evaluation of physicochemical, textural, mineral and protein characteristics of kidney bean grown at Himalayan region. Food Research International, 2014, 66, 45-57. 4. N.N. Misra, Seeratpreet Kaur, Brijesh K Tiwari, Amritpal Kaur, Narpinder Singh and P.J. Cullen. Atmospheric pressure cold plasma (ACP) treatment of wheat flour. Food Hydrocolloids, 2015, 44, 115-121. 5. Amritpal Kaur, Narpinder Singh, Seeratpreet Kaur, Arvind Kumar Ahlawat, Anju Mahendru Singh. Relationships between flour solvent retention capacity, secondary structure, rheological and cookies making properties of flour milled from different wheat cultivars. Food Chemistry, 2014, 158, 48-55. 6. Khetan Shevkani, Amritpal Kaur, Gurtejbir Singh, Baljeet Singh, Narpinder Singh. Composition, rheological and extrusion behavior of fractions produced by three successive reduction dry milling of corn. Food and Bioprocess Technology, 2014, 7, 1414-1421 7. Narpinder Singh, Priyanka Paul, Amardeep Singh Virdi, Parmeet Kaur and Gulshan Mahajan. Influence of early and delayed transplantation of paddy on physico-chemical, pasting, cooking, textural and protein characteristics of milled rice. Cereal Chemistry, 2014, 91, 389-397. 8. Amritpal Kaur, Parmeet Kaur, Narpinder Singh, Amardeep Singh Virdi, Prabhjeet Singh, Jai Chand Rana. Relationships of grains with starch properties and protein profiling of rice bean (Vigna umbellate) from Indian Himalaya. Food Research International, 2013, 102-110. 9. Sandeep Singh and Narpinder Singh. Relationship of polymeric proteins and empirical dough rheology with dynamic rheology of dough and gluten from different wheat varieties. Food Hydrocolloids, 2013, 33, 342-348. 10. Amritpal Kaur, Narpinder Singh, Arvind Kumar Ahlawat, Seeratpreet Kaura , Anju Mahendru Singh, Harshita Chauhan, Gyanendra Pratap Singh. Diversity in grain, flour, dough and gluten properties amongst Indian wheat cultivars varying in high molecular weight subunits (HMW-GS). Food Research International, 2013, 53, 63-72.
Awards and Honours:(i) Fellow Association of Food Scientists and Technologist (AFSTI)-2012, (ii) S. Bishan Singh Samundri Memorial Lecturership Award-2012 by G.N.D.U (iii) Certificate of Appreciation by Punjab Agricultural University, Ludhiana-2012, (iv) J. C. Bose National Fellowship by Department of Science and Technology (DST), Ministry of Sci. & Tech., - 2011, (v) The Rafi Ahmed Kidwai Award by ICAR- 2010, (vi) Fellow National Academy of Sciences, India (NASI)-2011, (vii) Fellow of the Indian National Science Academy (INSA)-2010, (viii) Fellow of the National Academy of Agricultural Sciences (NAAS)-2005 (ix) Recognition Award-NAAS for contribution in Agricultural Engg. & Tech.-2007-08, (x) Best Paper Award-AFST (I) entitled "Functional properties of normal, waxy and sugary corn starches', J. Food Sci. & Tech. 44, 565-571, 2007, (xi) C.N.R. Rao Educational Foundation Award- G.N.D.U. for Excellence in Research- 2007, (xii) Ramana Fellowship by DST, Ministry of Sci. & Tech.,-2007, (xiii) Laljee Godhoo Smarak Nidhi Award-AFST (I)-2005, (xiv) Pran Vohra Award-Indian Science Congress Association-1997-98, (xv) Appreciation Certificate-Punjab State Council for Sci. and Tech.-1990-93, (xvi) INSA Medal for Young Scientist-1993.